Quote of the Day March 17, 2012

The John Otto Farm

“He was a Rebel soldier-a young feller-and not very large.  I was skeered, but he was mo’ skeered than I was-certainly he was; and I said, ‘you dirty houn’ you, I have a notion to take you and throw you down those steps…He didn’t say anything.  He left.  I rekon I was too big for him.”  Hilary Watson a slave on John Otto’s farm recounts his return to the house to find a Confederate looter. From Guide to the Antietam Farmsteads by Kevin A. Walker. Sharpsburg: WMIA, 2010, page 103.

Leave a Reply

